Where Victims Should Seek Help

I am not a victim of child sexual abuse. So when asked to provide advice, I turned to somebody who I absolutely trust who has experience with these issues.

With that in mind, I’d like to thank  Kaz who has a fantastic blog herself (see here), and who is someone I consider a close friend. We’ve been talking about the issue  of how to advise for most of the day, and Kaz has tested a few people. So, this is my best advice to victims of sexual abuse. Not from me but from somebody with experience who I trust.

Was prompted today to check out the support on offer for Victims. It threw up some slightly worrying results.
Started out by running a Google search for support child sexual abuse victims. This threw up Mind, along with a few privately funded/run touchy-feely support groups. I then ran a quick check for Napac‘s number and rang them.
Finding their freephone number, I rang and briefly outlined my situation, to be told they could offer no advise for mental health as that was already covered. That much I had expected and I will come back to this at the end of the phone conversation.

on with No action to be taken by Operation Yewtree, they advised I contact one specific solicitor.
Now to me, that is a charity funded organisation advocating and promoting the use of just one Company in the UK. There are plenty of Child Abuse Expert Solicitors available through the Associationbut they chose to just advocate one, which I found unprofessional to say the least.

They umm’d and ahh’d as I related my woes and then suggested my MP in general or my GP for my missing medical notes. Although how my GP is supposed to help, when it was the Practice Manager that was with me when the extent of the discrepancies was discovered, is completely beyond my comprehension.

I then asked where people could go for help if they did not have Psychiatrist or CPN in place already, as I ran a blog through which I hoped, at least, some victims were able to see that not all was lost. I was told the places they would advise would be GP (to then access local mental health teams) or Mind for support.
So I thanked her for her time and patience, ended the call and rang Mind.

I reached an automated switchboard and, 1 minute 10 sec into the call I still had not reached a human being, so I gave up I must admit.

So, severley unimpressed with the attitudes of the so-called professionals, I would personally advise any victims to;

1; Speak to your GP.
They will best be able to advise you on the Mental health access points.
Before you start up with chorus’ of “I’m not mental!” I will tell you now, that is what it is classed as. Mental Health, like it or not. There is more stigma attached to untreated than there is treated Mental Health problems.

2; Contact Victim Support.
Victim Supportline: 0845 30 30 900 (Mon-Fri 9am-9pm, Sat and Sun 9am-7pm, bank holidays 9am-5pm)
email: supportline@victimsupport.org.uk
web: www.victimsupport.org
Victim Support is a charity that provides support and information to people affected by crime, including rape and sexual abuse, as a victim or a witness. The website provides details of local support branches.

3; If you are looking for a Solicitor,
go through the Association. They list County by County, Child Abuse expert solicitors. Some are No win, No fee whilst others are Legal Aid.
No win generally charge a 25% fee from any payout. They mostly insist on a minimum win chance of 50% and minimum payout expectancy of £60,000.

Fighting Back

In regard to the situati

4 Comments

Filed under Abuse, News

4 responses to “Where Victims Should Seek Help

  1. kaz

    It was updated today guys, suggest you reread, if you havent.
    important update at bottom.
    ty

  2. You should also try Survivors UK. a national org for men who have been sexually assaulted . Rape Crisis, for women and Galop for those who who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender and who have been sexually assaulted.

  3. Inspector Netusil

    The situation of all emotional health care / therapy available in the UK is shameful.

  4. chess

    thanks kaz.