Insurance & Child Abuse – Radio 4 File On 4 – 24 Feb 15

‘File on 4′, 24 February 2015, Radio 4

With a growing number of compensation claims arising from cases of historic sexual abuse and more recent high profile cases of sexual grooming, Tim Whewell investigates the key role which insurance companies play. In representing the local authorities where scandals occurred, insurers naturally seek to limit liability but are they doing so at a cost to victims? Lawyers say they have to battle to get access to files and other information – causing further distress and delaying help for those damaged by abuse. Some say the fight is getting harder as insurance companies have toughened their approach in recent years. And, with a national inquiry into historic cases of child sex abuse, how much influence did insurance companies have on the way some past investigations were carried out? File on 4 talks to senior local authority insiders who say they were told to alter their approach to abuse investigations to protect the insurers’ interests. But was that at the expense of children at risk?

Reporter: Tim Whewell Producer: Sally Chesworth.

8 Comments

Filed under Abuse, News

8 responses to “Insurance & Child Abuse – Radio 4 File On 4 – 24 Feb 15

  1. Pingback: Insurance & Child Abuse – Radio 4 File On 4 – 24 Feb 15 | Alternative News Network

  2. dpack

    jillings
    https://duckduckgo.com/?q=the+jillings+report+

    i recon i should invest in a paper shredding business if the insurance industry is about to be subpenaed for relevant paperwork

  3. TED HEATH

    Doncha just LOVE those insurance companies ?
    I sure do !

  4. this is an important post and is very valid, when Greville Janner was exposed as a long term visitor and abuser at Barnados homes
    the 5 boys who made the complaint were talked out of it, they were told they would be individually sued for damages, now one solicitor involved said he had heard from the director of the JIC Malcolm Rifkind who told them in quite blunt terms that it would be against the national interest to pursue these claims against janner
    There is a total blackout by lawyers on anyone mentioning either cliff Richard or the amazing james Randi in connection with young boys
    this is another form of gagging order which many of the boys from various homes including barnnados have experienced

  5. Andy Barnett

    It is a total cop-out for local authorities to blame the cover-up on insurance companies IMO. Of course their behaviour is not morally defensible, but they are not the ones appointed by the public to safeguard children. Their first responsibility is to their shareholders; the responsibility to the children lies squarely with the local authorities.

    It is not a threat by a company to say they won’t insure a council in the future, it is a freedom they have. Why should they be forced to accept future liabilities they are not confident they can minimise? It is for the local authorities to demonstrate to insurance companies and the public alike that they can be trusted to look after and safeguard vulnerable children. To expect to continue as they have done in the past while passing on claims to private companies is just nonsense.

  6. tazzdevil

    Hi Re-insurance Companys.FREEDOM WHEN NO FORMER CONTRACT TAKEN OUT WITH PARTIES EVER…THEN THEY CAN CHOOSE …N01,YES CORRECT COUNCILS RESPONSIBLE FOR CHILDREN PLACED IN CARE ,NO2, ZURICK INSURANCE COMPANY DID THRETEN ONE COUNCIL NOT TO INSURE ANY LONGER IF DIDUNT GET RID OF EVIDENCE, STATING KIDS SENT OUT OF COUNTY WERE GETTING ABUSED MENTALLY AND EMOTIONALLY AND GROOMED .NOW IF THAT WAS ME IN CHARGE OF CHILDRENS DEPARTMENT AND SOMEONE SAID THAT TO ME….I WOULD SAY FINE AND REPORT TO AN OUT OF COUNTY POLICE FORCE.I DO BELIVE AN OFFICER DID TO CHESTER BUT NO RECORDS FOUND HOW CONVINENT HEY::::???THEN I WOULD OF JUST STATED TO ZURICK YOU WERE THE INSURANCE COMPANY AT THE TIME OF INNCIDENTS ,SO END OF THAT SIMPLE THEY HAVE NO WAY OUT.RE CHILDRENS MANAGER DESTROYING EVIDENCE AND WAS MENTIONED IN PUBLIC, WELL CLOSED MEETING WITH LADY JUSTICE MACUR,WHO WAS ASKED TO CARRY OUT INDEPENDENT REVIEW BY HOME SECERTARY TERESA MAY IN 2012.ONE IS STILL WAITNG FOR THAT REPORT INFACT ITS TAKEN LONGER THAN THE WATERHOUSE INQUIERY,LADY MaCUR INVESTIGATING IF WATERHOUSE WAS DONE CORRECTLY ,,,I THINK WE KNOW THAT ANSWER JUST BY ONE PROCECTION BY PALLIAL NEVER MIND 18 MORE ARRESTS…ONE GOOD OUTCOME WITH JUSTICE LADY MaCUR IS SHE DID MEET VICTIMS OF NORTH WALES ,I AM SAD TO SAY I WAS THE ONLY VICTIM WHO TURNED UP AND DID SPEAK UP.ALL THIS ABOUT GROUPS OF VICTIMS HAVEING INPUT INTO THE ABUSE PANNEL IN LONDON THEY MUST BE CHARITIY BODIES BECAUSE I HAVE NOT BEEN INFORMED OR APPROCHED ,AND TODAY STILL DEALING WITH THIS ALL BY MYSELF.ALL I CAN SAY WHY DID VICTIMS GO TO COURT AND WATCH AN ABUSER GET SENTENCED AND BE SEEN LIKE AN IDIOT,S PUNCHING IN THE SKY ON TV.JUSTICE WILL NEVER BE DONE VICTIMS HAVE DIEAD AND ITS THOSE WHO I THINK OF AND SO SHOULD THOSE WHO GO TO COURT ,PLEASE SHOW SOME EMPATHY FOR THE VICTIMS WHO DIDUNT SURVIVE WITH WORDS NOT ACT LIKE YOU ARE IN A FOOTBALL MATCH. RE FILES ONE IS ALLOWED TO CALL FOR YOUR CARE FILES WHEN 18,YEARS OLD,THAT IS ONE OF THE FIRST THINGS I DID WHEN I BECAME AWARE OF THE WAY I WAS TREATED IN CARE,ALONG WITH MORE ISSUES THAN I WENT IN WITH I WAS A MISCHIEF CHILD ,I DONT MEAN BAD THINGS JUST ISSUES COS MUM LEFT AT AGE OF 3,,AND FOREVER WHEN 6, FATHER HAD OTHERS ON GO AND HAD NO TIME FOR ME AS I WAS REBELLING COS MUM LEFT.DOES THAT SOUND LIKE A CHILD WHO NEEDED THE CARE SYSTEM ???THATS WHAT THEY DID 1969 CHILDREN ACT I WAS AWARDED TO COURT AND THE REST IM STILL LIVEING WITH TODAY.I CAN SAY ITS BEEN 25YRS I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET THE PEOPLE WHO CARED FOR ME TO BE EXPOSED, BUT NO THEY CARRIED ON AND FORCES KNEW,ITS PRINCIPLE IN MY WORLD AND DONT WANT OTHERS TO SUFFER THE WAY I DID ,I CANT SPEAK FOR OTHERS ,BUT IF YOU ARE A VICTIM THEN SPEAK OUT .IT WILL BE HARD ,I RECIVED NO FORM OF EDUCATION WHILES IN CARE AND THAT IS WRONG .TODAY THEY SAY THAT WOULD NOT HAPPEN .WELL PLEASE LETS PUT THE WRONGS RITE BEFORE YOU PASS THEM REMARKS ,DONT LEARN FROM VICTIMS MISTAKES LOOK AT THE BODIES WHO ALLOWED THIS TO HAPPEN.I MUST SAY I HAVE NEVER FELT MORE EMBARRESSED WHEN APPLYING FOR JOBS WHEN KICKED OUT OF CARE ,FILLING APPLICATION FORMS IN AND I DIDUNT EVEN NOW HOW TO WRITE A SENTENCE,THEN YOU PUT EDUCATION DETAILS,THAT WAS LEFT BLANK,THEN THEY ASK PREVIOUS ADDRESS,RESIDENTIAL KIDS HOME,THAT HAD A LABEL OF ITS OWN.THE STIGMA ONE RECIVED AND STILL TODAY IT HAPPENS,BUT THATS DOWN TO PEOPLES RUDNESS .I AM SAD TO SAY IN 2014, I RECIVED LETTERS AFTER 30,YRS OF TRYING TO GET JUSTICE AND CLOSER…. NO NO ACTION TAKEN ON ABUSER WHO CARED FOR ME FROM 13YRS OLD AND GROOMED ME, POLICE SAY CPS SAID IT WOULDUNT BE IN THE INTREST OF PUBLIC PURSE.(BLOODY JOKE)THAT IS WHEN REALLY THE COUNCIL IN CHARGE OF A CHILD OUT OF COUNTY SHOULD TAKE ACTION ON BEHALF OF THAT CHILD IN THERE CARE AS THEY HAD DUTY.TODAY THE SITUATION STANDS I NOW HAVT TO FIGHT TO GET AN APOLOLLGY OF THE COUNCIL WHO I WAS AWARDED TO ,ALONG WITH PROVE I WAS IN CARE.WHAT AN INSULT.I TOLD THEM IF THEY WANT TO FIGHT THEN I AM SURE ANOTHER COUPLE OF YEARS WILL NOT MAKE MUCH DIFFIRENT AS THEY HAD FROM THE AGE OF 3 YEARS OLD TO PUT THINGS RITE BUT LET IT GO ON TILL WHAT I AM 48,YRS OLD NOW AND STILL TRYING TO GET JUSTICE CLOSER,HOW IS ONE GOING TO GET THAT WHEN THE POLICE COMPLAINTS INDEPENDENT BODIES SAY IT WAS OK FOR AN OFFICER TO TAKE MY STATEMENT TO AN ABUSER WHO I REPORTED ,THE OFFICER WANTED TO MAKE HER X PARTNER AWARE OUT OF MALICE,AS THE OFFICERS PARNER RAN OF WITH ABUSER,THE OFFICER DROVE ALL THE WAY FROM SOUTH WALES TO CHESTER WITH MY HAND WRITTEN STATEMENT BUT SOUTH WALES TOOK MY STATEMENT 1997 AND THEY SAID IT WAS LOST 1998,SO HOW THE HELL DID THEY INVESTIGATE AND THEY DIDUNT APPROCH ME AFTER 1996/7 ,UNTILL THAT OFFICER CAME FROM OPERATION GOLDFINCH SOUTH WALES IN 2001.THERE MUST BE OTHER VICTIMS FROM GOLDFINCH SOUTH WALES WHO NEVER GOT LISTENEND TO IF IS CONTACT ME ON HERE.I HAVE GOT TO THE POINT IN MY LIFE WERE I AM A GRADUATE FROM UNIVERSITY,I OWN MY OWN HOME ,I AM AN ENTREPRUNUR AND IN THE WORLD PATENT BOOKS,AND I HAVE LERNT TO MAKE A NEGATIVE INTO A POSITIVE AS IT ANNOYS OTHERS AND KEEPS THEM AWAY,AS PEOPLE THRIVE ON PEOPLES NEGATIVITIES ,VUNRABILITIES.HAS ONE EVER NOTICED WHEN ONE LOOKS HEALTHY AND GOOD ,NOBODY REMARKS?? BUT WHEN ONE LOOKS SHIT PEOPLE ARE QUICK TO SAY HOW BAD YOU LOOK BECASE THEY LIKE THE FEELING OF OTHERS FEELING VUNRABLE .SAD.SAD.WELL LAST THING I NEED TO SAY IS HAVE A GOOD DAY ALL,AND THX FOR READING.

  7. tazzdevil

    I come under zurich insurance i was a child 1969-83,so do i contact them,because i have got to prove i was in care ………they were destroyed the files ,but hey not quit i had a great gp who kept everything… so looks like i got to fight for an apology and any form of compensation and i was involved with Jillings never made claim,i was involved with operation goldfinch as kid put out of county,never made claim.i was apart waterhouse tribunral ,never made claim,i am involved with pallial.and you will ask why ???NO EVIDENCE AS WAS NEVER INVESTIGATED BY NORTH WALES POLICE OR SOUTH WALES POLICE,2014 I GOT LETTERS OF POLICE CONFIRMING WHAT I HAD TOLD THEM AND OUTCOME .NOW I HAVE THE EVIDENCE,I RECIVED NO EDUCATION ,I HAVE THE EVIDENCE OF THAT,I WAS INJECTED AND HELD BY SIX STAFF TO SEDATE I HAVE EVIDENCE OF THAT,I HAVE EVIDENCE WERE ISSUES ARISED WHEN IN SOUTH WALES WRITTING TO CLYWD THAT I AM BEING BULLIED ,NO ONE CAME,THEY HAD WRITTEN SAYING THEY WERE CONCERD RE MEMBER OF STAFF ,WERE I FIND OUT WHEN GET MY FILES ,BUT GP FILES FOLLOW YOU DONT THEY SO LOOK FOR EVIDENCE IF HAVE A GP WHO BELIVES IN KEEPING ALL PAPER WORK .DONT WORRY WHO READS THIS I HAVE GOT INCASE SOMEONE THINKS THEY CAN GO AND DESTROY.LIFE IS STILL A BATTLE ,ALL BECAUSE OF BLOODY SHARE HOLDERS ….IF IT WAS THEIR FAMILY WOULD THEY STILL ARGUE…IF YOU HAVE EVIDENCE THEN ONE SHOULD NOT NEED TO FIGHT ……I AM A FIGHTER A SURVIVER ,I AM HERE FOR A PURPOSE ,I AM YET TO START MY LIFE AS I STILL FEEL VERY MUCH IN THE PAST INFACT ITS LIKE YESTERDAY,AND TRYING TO MAKE SOME FORM OF FURTURE BUT THE MEDIA ,THE GOVERNMENT,FOR SOME REASON HAVE LISTEND ,PERHAPS BECAUSE IS THERE PEOPLE WHO THRIVED ON POWER AND SEEING OTHERS BEGG ALONG WITH EMOTIONALLY ABUSED WHILE SIPPING CHAMPAINE………..ONE GOOD THING CAME OUT OF THAT NEWSNIGHT PROGGRAMME ,I WILL LEAVE THAT WITH YOU .