John Stingemore Dead

Untitled

John Stingemore

Unconfirmed reports that he had died were circulating on social media yesterday evening.

I’d have liked to be able to say more about this but until I hear differently Tony McSweeney is still facing trial and comments regarding Stingemore might be prejudicial to that trial and in contempt of court.

I’m staggered that witnesses, including victims, were not informed of Stingemore’s death in the two days since his body was discovered and that they found out about this through the media. Many have had their lives turned upside down over the last two years and I’d have thought their interests should have been put first in this.

My thoughts are with all of John Stingemore’s victims at this time who must be very upset that the judicial system has robbed them of justice.

A former children’s home manager who was due to face trial for sex abuse charges has been found dead.

John Stingemore, 72, was found at his home in Stonehouse Drive, St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, on Wednesday.

Mr Stingemore was due to stand trial at Southwark Crown court over 12 charges, which included indecent assault. He had denied the charges.

Seven youngsters were allegedly abused at Grafton Close Children’s Home in Hanworth in the 1970s and 1980s.

Mr Stingemore had previously suffered a number of strokes and police were called to his home after concerns about his health.

Officers found him collapsed at the property and he was declared dead at the scene.

Sussex Police said his death was not suspicious. A post-mortem examination has yet to take place.

His co-defendant Father Tony McSweeney, 66, of Pease Pottage, West Sussex, pleaded not guilty to similar charges in November.

Both men were due to stand trial on 2 February.

BBC News

54 Comments

Filed under Abuse

54 responses to “John Stingemore Dead

  1. Andy Barnett

    “Sussex Police said his death was not suspicious”? A man, said to have been involved in the organised sexual abuse of children alongside major establishment figures, is found dead two weeks before his trial. How can that not be suspicious?

    • Sabre

      I made a bet on here last year that a couple of establishment figures would be taking one way flights with El Al.

      It could be a coincidence, however, none of us are going to be surprised about defendants, witnesses and victims meeting with sudden deaths over the coming year or two are we.

  2. Bishop Brightly

    Spot on Andy Barnett.

  3. Pingback: John Stingemore Dead | Alternative News Network

  4. HI Gojam,

    this is outrageous on so many levels. Can you write a scathing blog on the police. Pointing out how if ordinary folks were being accused of these crimes they would have been arrested by now. There is no excuse why VIP’s have not been arrested. How many witnesses do the police need to a crime before they have enough to arrest the person?

    This needs to be highlighted, so it can give a voice and focus to what a lot of people are thinking right now.

    Feel so sad for the victims who have yet again been denied justice.

    • The police were not responsible for the delays. The police were ready for trial a year ago when the trial was first due.

      • I know the delay was caused by CPS, but I am having a hard time believing it took Exaro to point out the error of their thinking. Why couldn’t the police have corrected it with CPS?

  5. Paul Mac

    This demonstrates how important it is to investigate and deal with any other current allegations which are taking painfully long for all involved.

    Many of those who are alleged to have committed abuse crimes are clearly nearing the end of their days and surely for all involved, time is of the essence.

    Without commenting on this specific case as it remains linked to other prosecutions, it would surely be better for the accused also to have their name cleared whilst they still can rather than leaving the issue unproven.

    Justice is not being served by the current foot dragging around the whole ‘Westminster ring’ investigation, the shambles around who is chairing the national inquiry & even whether one will go ahead. The many other cases which have been discussed on these cases are taking painfully long too.

    As others have mentioned, concluding the death was not suspicious seems premature. Whether innocent or guilty, he may have had knowlegde to share in court about others accused of similar offences. That knowledge has gone with him. A thorough postmortem would be welcome but I won’t hold my breath.

  6. Hi Tricia,

    Not it wasn’t the CPS either. It was the delaying tactics of Stingemore’s defence team.

    The CPS issue is different and not related to the trial’s delay. Exaro are referring to a letter from the CPS and that issue is more complex.

    (I’m wrong here, correction below)

    http://www.exaronews.com/articles/5339/cps-to-reinstate-key-charges-after-error-over-elm-guest-house

  7. dpack

    dead scum is ok by me but extracting as much data as possible from them first and giving their victims access to justice would be best .i cant think of anything nice to say about this .
    if he was a wrong un i hope he had a scared and painful death.

    perhaps the other one can provide more data and i do hope that he will have access to the justice that can be obtained by due process.

    ps i just re read this and nasty as it is i stand by this attitude .

  8. Gary

    It proves that ‘justice delayed is justice denied’. So many being dealt with in the justice system are older and being charged with crimes committed over thirty years ago. We would expect the accused’s brief to delay as much as possible, part of their job. What should not have happened (obviously) was the ‘initial’ delay of some thirty years when victims were ignored or disbelieved. This is a clear demonstration on why cases must go ahead timeously. As per a previous comment, this man may have provided further information in a bid for sentence reduction. We have to renew efforts to push government to press ahead investigating both Elm Guest House and other political cases, at the current rate some of the accused will be dead, and we’ve already seen one of them try the old ‘Guinness Case Scam’ of claiming to have Alzheimer’s Disease. My heart goes out to this man’s victims, to have their voices heard, at last, for him to die, at home, a free man.

  9. OK, Exaro have tweeted that those charges were reinstated and they’ve been to every court hearing.

    http://www.exaronews.com/articles/5339/cps-to-reinstate-key-charges-after-error-over-elm-guest-house

  10. angelo

    Why don’t we wait a little bit longer and see the next one eating himself to death? Did I offend someone? Don’t shoot me, don’t shoot me…it’s a free country! Hahahaha!

  11. Gojam,

    Did the CPS cause the delay. If so does that not include the police – really it took journalist to get the CPS to see what the police should have been anle to tell CPS.

    If that is the case then yes the police are responsible in part for these delays. Once again, Given the police history was it on purpose or incompetence – both of which are awful. Given the evidence the police now have from other witnesses about VIP’s why still no arrest. My question is if what not VIP and just Joe ordinary, would the police have arrested them based on evidence by witnesses such as Nick and Darren?

    If the police are part of the problem, and dragging their feet they need yo be called out on it, and the best way is through a blog post.

    Could be as simple as X questions to police

    1). How did they not correct CPS wrong interpretation of the charges re Stigmore?

    2). Given new witnesses that have come forward why no arrests. How many witnesses do the police need to a crime before they arrest someone?

    3) are the police slow to act because the perps are VIP’s or is the same snail pace it would take if it were Joe public that was being accused?

    etc etc.

    Just my thoughts but a post on this would give focus to what a lot of people are thinking and put a spotlight on the boys in blue

    • In my view it was Stingemore’s defence council that caused the delay by first arguing that they didn’t have a window to defend him properly because they were too busy (in my view if they are too busy they shouldn’t have taken the job) and secondly by trying to get the case moved near to where Stingemore lived because of his frailty (which had no regard for his victims and where they lived.)

      1) The difficulty with the Exaro/CPS point is that it is complex. To explain it clearly I’d have to say things I’d rather not but it centres on how many (1 or 2) victims had ‘talked’ to the police regarding EGH and what ‘talked’ means to different people. Everyone was shocked that charges regarding that witness were dropped. Some (not all) were reinstated.

      2) I’m not sure what crime and new witnesses you are referring to.

      3) I personally believe the police would arrest a VIP quick as you like if they had the evidence to do so.

  12. Surivor

    I am very sad that I could not face John Stingemore face to face in the court and tell everyone what he did to me and others at Grafton and also I fill angry with the way I have been treated by others We were so close to telling everyone about what really happened at Grafton Close Children’s Home I think they should knock it down as a good will to all the survivors of the home of horrors I am a survivor of the home and fill yet again let down with a kick in the teeth I was so close but now he’s dead what can I do Now

    Male SURVIVOR of Grafton Close

    • I am so sorry and this is so wrong. I hope you still find a way to tell your story. thoughts and prays are with you

    • If you don’t already have one, get a solicitor and get recognition of what has happened through the civil legal system.

    • Like wise, i was looking forward in seeing Stingemore amongst others get the justice they should of got when we reported it back in the 80’s…Now they are dropping like flies…We have been let down yet again, what will it take for them to listern to us from Grafton ?? Another death wont change the fact what went on.

  13. trevor

    Another victory for Theresa May’s delaying tactics.

  14. GMB

    Has anyone seen the body? How do we know it was Stingemore who was found? Bexhill close to Newhaven a known quite route out of the UK . No seriously folks does this mean I can now disclose the paperwork about the Grafton carehome I have been given by a very nice lady at the IPCC depository in Wythenshaw? Dead and buried? I do not think so. To borrow a phrase from ‘Vauxhallman’ Stingemore ‘a mere speck of dust in all of this’. Enough of the vazciliation must get on…

  15. Survivor

    I am a survivor of abuse at Grafton Close and was scheduled to be a witness in the trial of John Stingemore.

    I was notified by the police of his death on Thursday and I’m still trying to absorb the news that I won’t be able to face him. I was ready last year to take on anything the defense wanted to throw at me and I felt that the delay tactic they used to push the trial to next month just made me more ready.

    For him to escape justice at the 11th hour after so many years where I really thought he would be found guilty from my testimony, there’s no words to describe my disappointment. This was supposed to bring some closure to a nightmare experience I had to endure as a child by his hands. This news just makes me feel he escaped again. But at least this time no one from Richmond Council was there to assist and cover up his actions. Very angry.

  16. ok so will fernbridge use this as an excuse to shut down all EGH enquiries ?
    and look at this as ‘job done’ and in doing so, totally leave out not only a key part of the UK csa network and also a part of the international csa network

    • Hi Bob,

      Just to let you know that you are now banned from here.

      I could take the inane crap but when it became insulting inane crap I had to draw a line.

      Frankly, you’re not contributing anything constructive so go be nasty and stupid elsewhere.

      You’re not banned for this comment, ignorant as it is, but the ones I had to trash.

  17. GMB

    Bob, keep going with the nuggets.The Stingemore case, respects to all his victims and survivors, was a sideshow – it served its purpose. Onwards and UPWARDS.
    PS to John Stingemore: thanks for allowing us in the big secret. For your help you may get only 10,000 years in hell instead of life.
    ..

  18. GMB

    Come on ‘J’ hows about give Bob Chewie a Caution. Don’t want people thinking you are ‘PC gojam’. Even Dr Jerome Booth’s lot at Exaro hav’nt barred him…

  19. Survivor of Grafton Close

    I fill angry with the way myself and the other people where treated at Grafton Close why why did no one do anything about it sooner no he is dead we now can get to see him face to face and say how we felt I know that the police have to follow rules but when myself reported it he should have been arrested there and then I have had to live with this for years and years I hope he rots in hell and one day they will knock Grafton close down and i hope that I will be able to meet the other who were in the home and pull together and tell the world what went on in the home. I still fill sick that he died and there has been no support for any of the survivors, My life has been bad from being homeless to being in hospital there is no one to support us and if there is we have to pay for this.there are a lot of questions that need to be asked about that place and I will not rest till the truth comes out. a SURVIVOR OF GRAFTON CLOSE

    • You know we’ve never talked. I just want to tell you that myself and the team here are all gutted for you.

      I know you are a genuine person and so do many many others. I know that isn’t the same as seeing Stingemore convicted but I hope you can take something from knowing that you are believed.

      Take care,

      Jon

      • Survivor of Grafton Close

        Thank -you for your support lets hope this never never happen’s again to anyone and if it does lets hope it is nipped in the bud quickly I would also say that the police treated me well and they did what they had to do.

      • I’ve changed your name in the other comment.

        Maybe when the other trial is over, you and I can have a chat. There are one or two things I’d like to ask you about but not directly about your time in Grafton but what happened around 1990. I’d be really grateful if that were possible.

      • Survivor

        If you are who I think you are, I was in Grafton with you mate in 1981 and was scheduled to testify against Stingemore as well. Gutted was an understatement that after all the delays he dies right at the finish line. But at least you know he didn’t die a peaceful death and you need to find some comfort as well knowing that we were finally believed after living silently with the memories of what he did for over 30 years. My suggestion now is to go after Richmond council because of the way they covered up what happened, allowing him to resign and disappear back then and in my case they even tried to deny it only about 5-6 years ago.

        All the best to you.

      • Survivor of Grafton Close

        Hi Friend i think I no who you are hope you are ok and hopefully after all this stuff we can meet and have a chat and maybe do something about what happened at Grafton like get everyone together and make are voices heard and to get together and sue social services hope you are ok and as you can see I am very unhappy about the time it took to take it to court take care Mate Survivor of Grafton Close.

      • If you both want to be put in touch, as you’ve both supplied you’ve emails when commenting, then let me know.

        Please remember though that if you both decide to take civil action against Richmond then you need to be careful about what you discuss as the defence could suggest that you’ve contaminated each others evidence.

      • Survivor

        Gojam I appreciate the offer to connect us and yes I believe it will be a good thing even if it’s just to have a little solidarity. But then I agree for the need to be careful about evidence contamination. I will say this that to the other survivor, if you didn’t do so previously, get yourself a solicitor now. I’m going to talk to my solicitor about the risk of contacting each other for the sake of keeping our testimonies independent. One way or the other though once the dust settles after a civil suit, I think it will be good for both of us to chat. I think we are both hurting from the actual experience and the feeling of being cut off at the knees right before you thought you’d get some justice.

      • I’ll wait until you’ve had a chance to talk to your solicitor

        Contact me on gojam57@gmail.com if you want me to pass your details over.

      • kumasTeen

        To the two survivors writing here – you are brave men. I would like to send you my love and prayers and hope that with his death you find some inner peace. He is for sure dancing with the fires of hell and I do hope it is really hurting him.

  20. What was that song by Queen How convent whose next before long Ladbrokes will be giving odds
    http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/queen/anotheronebitesthedust.html

  21. Male survivor of Grafton Close

    So many years have past and I should be able to get on with my own life ie settle down and be HAPPY but I cant. I wish the council would knock down Grafton Close I am still having Very Bad Nightmares, I have lost a very close friend of mine who was there and I miss you Mate, I wish you could be here WHY WHY WHY was this not sorted out sooner when all the fax where right in front of people, I have something to say about John Stingemore ROT IN HELL.and to all the people that closed there eyes I hope you live with what you should have done for the rest of your days and as for all THE SURVIVORS of Grafton we are NO LONGER VICTIM’S we are all great loving caring people and like a good friend said to me

    “WHAT WAS DONE TO ME WAS BAD
    BUT THERE NOTHING WRONG WITH ME”

    TAKE CARE

  22. SURVIVOR OF GRAFTON CLOSE

    I would like to say a BIG THANK-YOU to everyone who has supported MYSELF & other SURVIVORS at this time. I hope in time to meet the others SURVIVORS of Grafton Close. I wish my Best FRIEND was with me as HELPED a lot of MALE & Female SURVIVORS. She would say to ME

    “WHAT WAS DONE TO ME WAS WRONG
    BUT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH ME”

    IN THE SUMMER I AM GOING TO DO A LONG BIKE RIDE TO RAISE MONEY TO HELP OTHER SURVIVORS BUT I WILL LET YOU KNOW WHEN AND WHERE. ONE AGAIN A BIG THANK-YOU

  23. SURVIVOR OF GRAFTON CLOSE

    Hi all as you now some of the guys at Grafton did not get there day in Court and some did not get the Guilty Verdict we all wanted, I fill angry and sad I am a survivor of Grafton Close and I would Like to here from anyone who was at the Home From Hell so we can meet up and chat it would be great to me the other guys now the court case is over we can if you wish Meet and share are thoughts. JOHN STINGEMORE the person in charge of the home i hope you rot in hell and we are stronger then you and we have survived but do you know you have messed up are lives but we can if we come together build it back. You took are child hood but we are stroner and we will help each other in anyway we can please get in touch,
    A SURVIVOR OF GRAFTON CLOSE

  24. SURVIVOR OF GRAFTON CLOSE

    THE TRUTH NEEDS TO COME OUT ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED AT GRAFTON CLOSE AND WHAT WENT ON BEHIND CLOSED DOORS NOW THAT JOHN STINGEMORE IS DEAD WE CANT SEE HIM GO TO PRISON AND THEN WE ALL CAN TRY TO GET ARE LIVES BACK TO SOME WAY OF LIVING I AM GOING TO TRY TO HELP OUT IN ANYWAY I CAN TO HELP THE OTHERS THAT LIVED IN THE CHILDREN’S HOME FROM HELL CALLED GRAFTON CLOSE I GO SOMETIME PAST IT AND I FILL SCARED AND GET VERY UPSET.

    A SURVIVOR OF GRAFTON CLOSE

  25. Male Survivor of Grafton Close)

    I would like to meet up with every boy that live at Grafton Close just to have a chat and coffee it would be so good to see you all again I have been thinking of you all since I left the Home from Hell It would be nice to meet so me of the staff too please please get in touch thanks

  26. Surivor of GRAFTON CLOSE

    WHY is everyone saying that John Stingemore was a caring Person….
    LET ME TELL YOU WHAT HE WAS LIKE A NASTY PEACE OF SHIT AND IF HE WAS ALIVE HE WOULD BE GOING TO PRISION TILL HE DIED IF YOU THINK HE WAS A NICE PERSON PLEASE THINK AGAIN HE WAS A ABUSER AND A PEACE OF SHIT I HOPE HE ROTS IN HELL

    • Grafton Survivor

      Let me second that. The last thing Stingemore would be known for was caring. Even during his daily routine at the home he was a tyrant. Then there was the other exclusive side to him that some of us were unfortunate to experience that made it worse. Normal life in Grafton was pure hell. It was a secure home with locks and intense supervision where Stingemore got to play god with our lives and there was nothing we could do about it and there was nothing the council did about it either even after they removed him in 1981. So to anyone who makes positive comments about him has no clue what they’re talking about because they obviously weren’t there.

  27. Male survivor of Grafton Close

    Just to add to this John Stingemore was not sacked he was told something had been found at the home and he did not come back.It has taken to long for him to be arrested and in court myself and the other boys could have seen him go to prison but he died before it could be, I still fill very angry about this and was hoping to see him suffer like we did in the children’s Home from Hell we yet again we have been let down again. I would like to get in touch with anyone who was at Grafton Close just to say hello and maybe meet as there is not a day goes passed when i don’t think about what you up to and hope you are ok. My best friend peter who sadly killed himself miss you as a friend the question is on my mind is Why did it take so long

    • Grafton Survivor

      To my other survivor friend who gave his email out through gojam. I’m trying to reach you by email to make sure you’re ok and to talk about some civil action options. Lets talk soon.

      gojam, can you just confirm the email address is correct and send it to me at my registered email address? Thank you.

  28. A Catholic friend in the media told me recently that Stingemore was the model for Father Jack in Father Ted.